Sometimes Hurricanes Need Containers.

This summer, I saw a Fringe show by the stand up poet/story teller/comedian Jem Rolls, he is fantastic, hilarious and so inspiring. He had a joke that went something like,

 

“Why would anyone go digging around in their insides and emotions?”

 

“Well, because I’m a poet, and that’s what poets do.”

 

I laughed so hard at this point, almost spitting beer onto the person in front of me. I would say that this is what many artists do, or at least what I do, in making art. I have often felt like I cannot accurately interpret or process my experiences unless I’ve made art about them, like I cannot understand my life, or myself, until it’s been reflected back at me.

 

Magicians need direction. Chaos needs structure. Creativity needs a place.

 

I am a hurricane and this blog will be my container.

One thought on “Sometimes Hurricanes Need Containers.

Leave a Reply

