Dork-ographer’s

I spent my sunday alternating between tea and beer, discovering my love for Super Store  and wandering around back alleys and parkades with Colby, a very dear friend and fellow “dork-ographer”/artist. You can see his incredibly beautiful, dreamy and smart (science!) film photographs here: www.flickr.com/apertureandaperture/

(my favorites are the black and white double exposures)

“Lets have a photography date! I’ll take pictures of you, and you take pictures of me.” There was a lot of, “Oh! Don’t move!” being said.

I’ve had little experience with film, besides a traumatizing episode with my Diana+ (7 rolls over exposed, I’m working up the courage to try again) and the disposable I bought at the dollar store a few weeks ago (yet to be developed).

Colby gave me an Olympus Trip 35 that he found second hand. The shutter is a little sticky though, which is incredibly frustrating when you’re on top of a downtown parkade and there’s a man in a strange purple toga wrap standing on his fire escape waving at you from below and your digital camera’s outa batteries, dammit.

My cold little hands vs. that stupid shutter.

Colby kept saying, “we’ll get you a new point and shoot, we’ll get you a new point and shoot.” and pressed the shutter for me a few times when I couldn’t get it. (insert cheesy “what are friends for” line here) Cutie.

He’s very encouraging that I should experiment more with film.

Here are some photos I took with my digital before the battery died:

And some panoramas (my favorites) :

I’m excited to see how our photos turn out, just hoping mine wont all be blurry and anticipating my face spliced into the side of a building and/or itself.

One thought on “Dork-ographer’s

  1. Pingback: Lights and Bulbs | Good luck with Madeleine.

Leave a Reply

