Twart

Text based art, twitter sized statements, captions, moments, snip bits of conversations, feelings, observations. Images of words, words as images.

I’m so into these right now.

Between facebook, twitter, texting and the faster moving, quickly changing, highly stimulating world, I find that there’s an ever increasing pressure to be sharp and witty on a constant basis. To label, identify and process these vague relationships, situations and emotions at a more accelerated rate than ever before.

Even subconsciously I find myself compartmentalizing my life into this format. Regardlessly, I was surprised that upon seeing this type of art created by others, I related to their statements instantly. Out of context, they become so vague and universal that the viewer can/will apply them to their own experiences.

For these reasons, I think “Twart” can have incredible power due largely to it’s often ¬†freakishly immediate and subconscious impact. (I also love to write in this style.)

Which is better, with colour or without?

Leave a Reply

