Ice Prints.

I’m not sure if these photos really do them justice, but frozen over these leaves are sheets of ice with the imprints of leaves different from the ones beneath them. What I think this means is that when the ice melted and shifted, it kept it’s original shape, more or less. While walking home very late one night last week I noticed this happening at the edge of the sidewalk all along the block of my house. Instantly fascinated, I spent a good while crouched on the ground taking these pictures:

Since then I’ve been noticing the designs that form in thin sheets of ice all over and remembering the way frost would freeze in these intricate floral like patterns on the windows of my elementary school bus. I’m now wanting to make ice-art.

I’m also wanting to make a ton of mobiles. Ice print mobiles?

Leave a Reply

