Lately – Things I’ve been doing.

I’ve been writing in parks, writing in every cafe along Saint Laurent, writing in the metro, writing on the floor at parties and writing scattered throughout all of my sketch/notebooks. (But! I never feel like I’ve been writing enough.) le sigh*

I’ve been walking a ton, loving all graffiti and taking self portraits in alley ways and metro station photo booths and mirrors. I’ve been going to a lot of parties, dance parties, after parties, house parties, house shows, regular shows, poetry readings, and ‘gatherings’ but usually forget to take pictures because every thing’s so fun, crazy, overwhelming, fast paced and all consuming. I’ve seen a lot of incredible apartments, lofts, bars, grungy studios, art studios, classrooms, super old and/or abandoned warehouses and graffiti-ed bathrooms.

I’ve been making art projects that require math! gasp, I know.  I’ve spent a considerable amount of time in the welding studio. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time holding an electric sander. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time awake before noon. I’ve had probably a thousand cups of coffee and soy lattes.I’ve climbed onto more rooftops in Montreal than I ever had before in my whole life. I’ve had a lot of deppaneur wine while walking down the street. I’ve woken up cuddling with a five foot long plastic battle axe. I’ve run into people much more often than I ever thought I would. I’ve run into everyone I know who’s visiting Montreal (even if only for a day) serendipitously on Saint Laurent. I’ve walked home down Parc hungover in the sun already too many times to count (I should really make a ‘morning after’ soundtrack). I’ve thought that I was walking home down Parc hungover and gone in the wrong direction only to run into a friend who was going to a party/show so I went there with him instead. I’ve Pop-ed so hard. I’ve talked about blow jobs a lot in class. I’ve bought a taxidermy sparkly fox face.

I’ve brunch’ed like it’s my job. I’ve drawn more still life than ever (and it hasn’t even been that much). I’ve even drawn a landscape, gasp* (spoiler alert, it’s pretty abstract).

I’ve cried a lot, been up all night and morning on skype, gotten lost everywhere, clogged the toilet at one of my favorite cafes, been unable to stop shaking during a group critique, and felt hugely socially anxious pretty much every day.

I’ve I’ve I’ve fried my brain with bagels, social stimulation, and wine so hard last night (not the first time) and so cannot write any sentences that don’t start with ‘I’ve’.

I’ve been putting together this blog for a studio class, so check it out if you want to see even more photographs, self portraits and things I’ve been working on.

I’ve been drooling over the beauty of this city all of the time, constantly, everyday.

Leave a Reply

