Interviewed on my self portraits and reading habits.

I meant to post about this a few weeks ago but October is a feisty mistress who leaves little time for blogging and staying on top of to do lists.

So, unfortunately the ‘My Favorite Book Contest’ and ‘Saskatchewan Library Week’ are both over, but! still exciting because I was asked to do a self portrait series for their promotions and posters. Then they also interviewed me for their blog about my history and process of doing self portraiture, growing up in ‘the internet age’, my secret life in libraries and of course my favorite books!

Just in case you don’t want to read the entire thing, here’s a preview:

– …my art became a way to subvert the experience of feeling exploited.
– …I’m never nervous or shy in front of my own camera, which allows for rawness and vulnerability…
– …It’s probably my favourite love story, told entirely through letters and artwork sent back and forth through a fantasy landscape between people who may or may not exists only in each others imaginations. I feel it may not be so far off from real life romance in many ways, or is that just me.
– …I usually like to switch back and forth between fact and fiction.

you can read the rest of the interview here (and read the others+more about the contest+Saskatchewan Libraries)

NOTE: huge thanks to Jeannie Straub for encouraging me to be apart of this!

One thought on “Interviewed on my self portraits and reading habits.

  1. You are glorious!
    Great interview and I LOVE the shots of you with the journal. Lovely lovely love ly!
    And hey – truly honoured to be on the list 😉
    go easy -p

Leave a Reply

